Skip to content

5 things I should really start doing now I’m 40

DSCF0327

Yes, it’s a bit of a milestone. But let’s face it, turning forty isn’t what it used to be. Us fortysomethings still like to think we’re pretty sprightly and youthful. Many of us have small children, babes-in-arms or and are only just stepping onto the property ladder or getting hitched – all of those activities that are typically associated with proper adultdom.
So now I’m finally there, here are a few things I feel I should probably tackle:

1. Writing a book. Hoorah, I’ve done that one (five times!) and was almost certainly spurred on by the approach of the big four 0. Sometimes, it helps to give yourself a timescale for achieving your writing goals, otherwise the big ‘idea’ that has been circling in your head for all these years never gets fleshed out into a full blown novel or short-story. Whether it’s 40, 50 or 25, give yourself a target and stick to it.
2. Make sure I’m in the right job. this is really connected to no.1. The age of forty creeps up on you fairly swiftly and sometimes the career that you entered after university/school/college wasn’t necessarily the one you envisaged yourself in for the long-term. I’m not trying to encourage a mid-life crisis here, but this might be a good opportunity to re-evaluate the day job. Don’t do anything hasty, but it could be time to take an evening course/online qualification in the career you always really wanted.If you don’t like it after all, you can feel more happy and contented in the path you did choose.
3. This may sound corny, but it’s definitely the right moment to spend more time with/appreciate my family. Time is something that at this stage in our lives is seriously at a premium, but actually, small acts of kindness really make a huge difference here. Many of us find it extremely difficult to express our gratitude and love. Usually because we’re too busy/tired/grumpy/resentful of being constantly put-upon. Try to take a breather and make a positive approach to someone you really do appreciate the support of. This may actually lessen your overall burdens, it will certainly make you feel better about yourself.
4. This is a bit of a girlie one, but I’m going to stop worrying about my weight. This is a concern which plagues women (and many men) from teenage onwards. When I look at photographs of myself over the years I am very hardpressed to notice a great deal of difference in my general size and appearance, yet I’ve wasted an awful lot of pointless energy thinking about it. So as long as I am in the realms of the healthy, from now on, who cares!!
5. Flossing. This is a silly one, I know, but my dentist has been telling me to floss for about twenty years and I’ve never really understood what the fuss is all about. As soon as I turned forty, I started to do it. Not quite sure why, but I suddenly thought that perhaps it was about time and might just keep my gnashers operational for a few more decades.

There are most likely dozens more things I should be doing now I’m a proper adult, but these will do for now.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Well, today is my 41st birthday and at least if I drop dead tomorrow, I’ve published two books. Not that I feel anyway special about it, because I’m suffering like hell with mental illness and probably will drop dead soon. But go for it; start your effectuating your dreams 🙂

    Like

    October 11, 2014
    • Happy Birthday to you. It seems like a dangerous age for mental health issues, you are most certainly not alone. It is a tremendous achievement to have published two books and someday soon you will be able to enjoy the feeling of accomplishment it gives. I wish you all the best.

      Like

      October 11, 2014
  2. Happy birthday to you! 🙂

    Like

    October 11, 2014

Leave a Reply

