Skip to content

A disappointing end to an otherwise great drama #TheMissing

Pipe - 18027
I have to force myself to write this post when what I’d really rather do is forget I ever watched the final episode of The Missing.
This superior drama has gripped me from the very beginning with it’s script, acting and production values. I’ve invested a great deal of emotional energy in following its twists and turns. I know I am not the only one.
But about twenty minutes before the end of this last episode of eight, I found myself shifting forward in my seat with a slowly dawning horror that James Nesbitt himself would struggle to portray.

We weren’t actually going to get a definitive answer to the fate of Oliver.

Now, BBC dramas have done this to me before, but do I ever learn my lesson? No. Here I am again, feeling disappointed and frankly, rather upset. I would have watched the next series anyway, because the acting and direction have been so good. Now I’m not so sure.
A mystery thriller that continues over 8 hours needs to be resolved. I am a mystery thriller writer and I can attest to this fact. It’s a shame, because it feels cynical.
Perhaps I will see things differently in the morning. But for now, I’m seriously not impressed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

