Skip to content

My top 5 female detectives in fiction

The RetroReview

MY TOP 5 FEMALE DETECTIVES IN FICTION

When trying to decide upon my favourite of all fictional detectives I was struck by the realisation that, after the most obvious candidates, there are actually fewer female ‘lead’ detectives in mystery fiction than I had at first imagined. Of course, we all think of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and perhaps Josephine Tey’s Miss Pym- who are both classic creations that withstand the test of time. However, my other favourite women sleuths tend to have originated on the small screen; such as Sarah Lund and Jane Tennison- although they remain masterfully penned personalities nonetheless. I also then considered some of my favourite detective writers and their characters. For example, P.D James and Ruth Rendell, who have both certainly created strong female sleuths in their many books are yet best known for their male leads- Adam Dalgleish and Chief Inspector Wexford. I must admit myself that I prefer the Dalgleish novels…

View original post 605 more words

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. anne #

    It is strange that my favourite sleuth is a woman (Miss Marple) but beyond her there are so very few strong female investigators (second fav Albert Campion then all men really, I don’t love Miss Pym or Miss Silver, they feel somewhat cold)

    Liked by 1 person

    June 26, 2015
    • There are a lot fewer female lead detectives in fiction than you would think, especially compared to tv characters.

      Like

      June 26, 2015

Leave a Reply

