Skip to content

Writing a ghost story

The process behind the sixth novel in the Imogen and Hugh Croft Mysteries series.

The RetroReview

An old dark haunted church tower.

Having written seven novels in two different crime series, I was ready to try something new. I have always enjoyed atmospheric ghost stories, especially those with a historical element to them, so I decided to attempt something similar in my new book.
At first, I decided to make it a standalone, set in my native north Essex and in a boarding school similar to the one in which my husband works and where I used to teach. But as I began the planning phase, I realised that the story would fit very well with my husband and wife sleuths Imogen and Hugh Croft. So I devised the idea of creating a โ€˜story within a storyโ€™, so that Imogen could be told about events from the past and then investigate them in the present day. To this end, the book is separated into two distinct parts.
This format was also usedโ€ฆ

View original post 261 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

