Skip to content

The Christmas period means something quite different now for authors and publishers

A reflection on the book market at this busy time of the year. Merry Christmas!

The RetroReview

DSCF0349

With less than two weeks to go until Christmas, what should an author’s marketing strategy be?

I’m busy with my own festive preparations right now and with completing the Christmas present shopping, but I am also aware that this is one of the busiest times of the year for sales of my books. So, how best to optimize this? As a consumer myself, I am very careful not to pay too much for books. On the High Street, prices for a new release paperback and certainly for hardbacks can be very high. I might seek inspiration from the shelves for gifts but then I tend to purchase online, where I will get a better deal. What this means, is that it’s now pretty much too late to order books as gifts for Christmas, unless I was prepared to pay a lot for postage and even then, it would still be…

View original post 299 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

