Skip to content

How small publishers and independents should prepare for Christmas

This is a blog that I wrote in the run up to Christmas last year. Is it now the run up to Christmas? Well, it’s November, so of course! It’s amazing how many of the observations still hold true, even with the book trade changing so rapidly as it has done in 2016.

The RetroReview

DSCF0109

As I am now a small retailer, having been up and running for over a couple of years, I know that Christmas is a crucial selling time and I need to be fully prepared for it.
First and foremost, I am a writer and an editor. Fine. That declaration is out of the way. But, I design and publish my own books so it is essential that I adopt a pretty good business head too.

The busiest season for ebook downloads tends to fall over the summer months and some independent author/publishers may have felt the sting of lower paperback and hardback sales as a result. Don’t worry. This is a perfectly natural pattern and will only become more pronounced as the ebook market continues to grow, as it inevitably will. This phenomenon is a good thing for independents. We are blissfully free of pen-pushing middle-men and can keep our…

View original post 412 more words

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Nice to get a picture of your biggest fans. My blog on your writing is getting a lot of page views. You get there by typing Rich Whitney Turner into google. I hope you have wonderful Christmas and thank you for proving so much reading pleasure

    Liked by 1 person

    December 21, 2015
    • I have read your blog and was very touched that you like the sense of place that I create in my books, it’s something that means a great deal to me when I read novels. I shall really enjoy reading the rest of your blog!

      Like

      December 21, 2015

Leave a Reply

