Skip to content

My first experience of the KDP print service

image

I released the 12th instalment of the DCI Dani Bevan detective series this week. I am an indie author and publisher, company director of The Garansay Press, and this isn’t a process I am new to. I’ve published twenty books in total through the KDP Amazon programme.

On the whole, I have found the service excellent. But this is the first time I have used the KDP programme for my print books, having previously used Createspace, which has now been (pretty seamlessly) absorbed into KDP.

I thought I would share my experiences. As ever, the publishing of the Kindle version was efficient and straightforward. I use a royalty paid template for my books and am very used to the technical requirements for the cover and interior. However, I am still grappling with the requirements for the print edition.

I will put my hands up and admit this is my own fault. I tend to rely on my print ready template and struggle if I have to make adjustments. I am making changes, including creating a fresh cover in response to suggestions from the team. What has made this smoother for me, was updating our home wifi. My DTP package requires a strong signal!  Once I have a workable template, I imagine the process will be easier in future. I definitely appreciate having paperback and Kindle sales information all in one place. My accountant is certainly pleased!

I am confident the paperback version of The Eye in the Dark will be available very soon. Despite a few early hiccups, I think the benefits of the new KDP system outweigh any initial problems.

 

No comments yet

Leave a comment