Skip to content

Is there still any need to re-read?

imageIt’s an issue which divides the reading community. Personally, I have always relished re-reading my favourite books. As a crime fan, this may seem odd. We already know the resolution to the story, and the twists and turns, so why bother? But as all re-readers know, a second or even third visit to a much loved novel can uncover hidden meanings and complexities that were previously missed. It can be one of reading’s greatest pleasures.

Having said this, it occurred to me today that I haven’t re-read a book in at least a couple of years, when I used to do so regularly. I wondered why. I think the answer is simple. There is now a better range of good books available to readers than there has ever been.

I believe that the habit of re-reading is instilled in the majority of us in childhood. Our first, magical experiences of the written word come from having books read to us by a parent. As all mums and dads quickly discover, babies and toddlers enjoy the same stories bring re-told, over and over again. I’m not sure what psychological or developmental reasons lie behind this phenomenon, but undoubtedly it must be in part that the repetition is comforting to a child. The familiarity of the characters and the cadence of the words themselves confer a sense of security.

My teenage daughter also enjoys re-reading certain books, especially series like Harry Potter. The imaginary worlds and myriad of characters compel a reader to return to it, time and again. This seems to appeal strongly to the burgeoning reader.

Perhaps, as we grow more mature as readers, we gain a sense that time is short and with so many books that we want to devour – from classic literature to the latest release from our favourite crime or Sci-Fi author – we don’t feel we have the luxury to re-visit a book we’ve already read?

But I still recognise the joy of re-reading a favourite title. Some of the early Barbara Vine novels I have read 5 or 6 times. I loved the style of the prose and the unfolding of the intricate stories. These days, I wouldn’t have the patience. Access to social media means that I am fed a rich diet of recommendations from a worldwide reading community. I have discovered some excellent new authors and I hope to find even more.

The growth of Indie authors and publishers on Kindle has meant that new writing talent has never been more affordable. It is easier to give a new writer or series a chance. The second hand book market is also thriving. It is an exciting time to be a reader

So, will I return to the habit of re-reading my favourites? I’m sure that I will. Right now, my TBR pile is dictating my reading habits, making it difficult not to seek out the new. But another by-product of maturing as a reader, is the fact that after a couple of years, I may not be able to remember the plots of the books I’ve read, meaning that a re-visit will become a necessity for me, rather than a rather niche pleasure!

No comments yet

Leave a comment